While playing at the park yesterday, Calli found a couple of girls to play with. They were a little bit older, but they quickly worked her in to their play. Their mother and I gave each other the non-committal, slightly weary hello nod customary of adults.

This park has a smaller playground for younger kids, and a larger one for big kids. As the trio of girls crossed from one playground to the other, Calli stopped in front of her playmates’ mother and said, ‘Hi! My name is Calli, and I am your friend!’

The mother smiled warmly and patted Calli on the head. Calli chased after the girls, and they played and giggled together.

As we drove home, I thought about how wonderful that one statement was. ‘Hi! I’m Calli, and I am your friend!’ What is that like? No reason to ask ‘Will you be my friend?’ No confusion about whether the receiving party concurs with this friendship. This was simply a statement of fact. How wonderful that must be to have that much confidence! It was as if she said, ‘I really don’t care how you feel about it. I am your friend.’

How would our lives be better if we went through life like that? It’s an issue I’ve struggled with all my life. I never want to appear conceited or ‘full of myself’, and I’m not that confident to begin with.

Yet you are currently reading ‘The greatest Daddy Blog. Ever.’ and no one has contested that. In fact, as I read through other Daddy Blogs, I see many similar statements. ‘I have the best wife in the world!’ ‘I have the best kids!’ ‘Best family!’

You know what? They’re all absolutely right.

What if we all had that much confidence all the time? Confidence to help someone in need. Confidence to make decisions. Confidence to do something about our current situations?

I bet the world would be a much better place.